[Update] Chief Minister Of India| Complete List of CM Elected in India

Chief Minister Of India

Chief Minister is the head of the government elected by the citizen of the respective state. Chief Minister to a state is what a Prime Minister is to the Nation. He /she is the real ruler of the state. The tenure of a CM is of maximum 5 years and there is no limits to the number of tenures he/she may be selected.


To become a Chief Minister, a candidate must be

  1. A citizen of India
  2. 25 years of age or more
  3. A member of the state legislature and in case he is not, the governor of the state must approve his candidature.


A CM is appointed by the Governor of the state but in actual a candidate who is the leader of the winning party and who has won the majority in the state legislative is elected as Chief Minister.

Power and Functions:

  1. He is the leader of Legislative Assembly and is responsible for all the government policies in the state.
  2. He is the leader of council of Ministers and on his advice, the Governor of state appoints and release a minister. He is responsible for maintaining unity and integrity among the Council of ministers.
  3. On his advices, the Governor of a state functions

Complete List of CM Elected in India

Chief Minister State
cm of apShri. Nara Chandrababu Naidu Andhra Pradesh
cm of arunachal pradesh Kalikho PulShri Kalikho Pul Arunachal Pradesh
Shri Sarbananda Sonowal

Shri Sarbananda Sonowal

cm of bihar Nitish KumarShri Nitish Kumar Bihar
chattisgarh cm Raman SinghDr. Raman Singh Chhattisgarh
cm of delhi Arvind KejriwalShri Arvind Kejriwal Delhi (NCT)
goa cm Shri Laxmikant ParsekarShri Laxmikant Parsekar Goa
gujarat cm Smt. Anandiben PatelSmt. Anandiben Patel Gujarat
Shri Manohar Lal cm of haryanaShri Manohar Lal Haryana
cm of himachal Shri Virbhadra SinghShri Virbhadra Singh Himachal Pradesh
j&k cm Mehbooba Mufti SayeedMehbooba Mufti Sayeed Jammu and Kashmir
Shri Raghubar Das chief minister of jharkhandShri Raghubar Das Jharkhand
Shri Siddaramaiah cm of karnatakaShri Siddaramaiah Karnataka
Shri Pinarayi VijayanShri Pinarayi Vijayan Kerala
cm of mp Shri Shivraj Singh ChouhanShri Shivraj Singh Chouhan Madhya Pradesh
cm of maharashtra Shri Devendra FadnavisShri Devendra Fadnavis Maharashtra
cm of manipur Shri Okram Ibobi SinghShri Okram Ibobi Singh Manipur
Dr. Mukul Sangma cm of meghalayaDr. Mukul Sangma Meghalaya
Shri Lal Thanhawla cm of mizoramShri Lal Thanhawla Mizoram
Shri. T R Zeliang cm of nagalandShri. T R Zeliang Nagaland
odisha cm Shri Naveen PatnaikShri Naveen Patnaik Odisha
Shri V. NarayanasamiShri V. Narayanasami Puducherry (UT)
cm of punjab Shri Parkash Singh BadalShri Parkash Singh Badal Punjab
cm of rajasthan Smt. Vasundhara RajeSmt. Vasundhara Raje Rajasthan
sikkim cm Shri Pawan Kumar ChamlingShri Pawan Kumar Chamling Sikkim
Selvi J. Jayalalithaa cm of tamilnaduSelvi J. Jayalalithaa Tamil Nadu
Shri K Chandrasekhar RaoShri K Chandrasekhar Rao Telangana
Shri Manik SarkarShri Manik Sarkar Tripura
Shri Akhilesh YadavShri Akhilesh Yadav Uttar Pradesh
Km. Mamata BanerjeeKm. Mamata Banerjee West Bengal