Revised IPL 2016 Schedule, MI and RPS to share Vizag as Neutral Venue

IPL 2016 Revised Schedule

The revised schedule of ongoing Indian Premier League 2016 has been declared by the IPL Governing council which also declares the Vizag to be new home ground for both Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiants.

The revision of schedule and change of homeground is result of the decision taken by Supreme Court in order to relocate all the matched to be held in Maharashtra. Earlier a PIL was filed at Bombay High Court against the matches which were scheduled in Mumbai and Pune. Currently the Maharashtra state is facing the shortage of water and many of its cities are already declared draught stricken. At such difficult time when even a single drop of water is precious, using water for the preparation of good will be a total waste. On this base  HC has already given strict decision that no matches will be played at Maharashtra after 30th April 2016. Though a relief for one match between RPS vs MI to be played at Pune on 1st May is granted.

Also check-No more IPL matches in Maharashtra this year: Supreme Court

This decision has affected three IPL franchise MI, RPS and KXIP as the former two has their home ground in Mumbai and KXIP secondary home ground is in Nagpur. So it was necessary for the IPL GC to relocate the  13 matches that were scheduled in Maharashtra. Earlier, Sawai Mansingh Cricket Stadium was being considered to be the alternate venue and for this government of Rajasthan has also accepted the proposal and have made the stadium ready to host the matches. But due to same draught issues in Rajasthan too, IPL GC has changed its decision to shift the venue to Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium for which both the affected teams has agreed.

According to new schedule, on 15th May the match between Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad will now be played at 4:00 pm at Mohali and Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Daredevil will be played at Vizag at 8:00pm. The knock out matches earlier Which was supposed to be hosted by Pune will now be played at Delhi and the finale match is shifted from Mumbai to Bangalore.